skip to main content

Principal For A Day

Media release 3 minute read

The 19th annual Principal For A Day takes place on Tuesday 3 September


Principal For A Day is an annual event in its 19th year that sees business and community leaders shadow Victorian government school principals in their day-to-day activities, and discuss the challenges and current issues each is facing in their leadership role. Other activities on the day usually include a school tour, and discussions with students and teachers. It takes place in 2019 on Tuesday 3 September or on a date that week at the participants’ discretion.


Led by the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER) with funding from the Victorian Department of Education and Training through the Bastow Institute of Educational Leadership, Principal For A Day aims to increase understanding and awareness between schools, business and the wider community, to promote the great work of schools and their principals, and to build ongoing relationships, partnerships and programs.


Some of the participants in schools in the Melbourne metro area in 2019 include: 

Natalie Abboud, Mayor of Moreland

Matthew Albert, Barrister, Victorian Bar, Australia Day

Neil Angus MP, State Member for Forest Hill, Shadow Minister (multiple portfolios)

Jenny Atta, Secretary, Victorian Department of Education

Michele Barry, GM Epilepsy Foundation

Katie Berman, Pinnacle Group

Chris Buckingham, CEO, Casey Cardinia Libraries

Lachlann Carter, CEO 100 Story Building

Tim Conolan AM, CEO & Founder - TLC for Kids, Australian of the Year - Local Hero

Matthew Defina, Head of Programs, the Man Cave

Elly Gay, Director, Operational Policy, Victorian Department of Education

Sam Hibbins MP, State Member for Prahan

Zivit Inbar, Founder and CEO DifferenThinking Pty Ltd.

Dr Milosh V. Ivanovich, National Australia Day Council Australia Day Ambassador

Michael Kennedy OAM, Professor, Monash University

Simon Lewis, Misson Lifeline, National Australia Day Council Australia Day Ambassador

Tony Luo, Urban Planner, Vic Planning Authority

Daizy Maan, SPARK Deakin, Bold Punjab

Cr Janet Pearce, Macedon Ranges Mayor

Melodie Potts Rosevear, CEO and founder Teach for Australia

Tim Richardson MP, State Member for Mordialloc and Parliamentary Secretary for Schools

Cr Susan Salter, Mayor of Queenscliffe

Nick Wakeling MP, State Member for Ferntree Gully, Shadow Minister

Vicki Ward MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Public Transport Infrastructure

Dr Mimmie Ngum Chi Watts, Victorian Multicultural Commissioner

Glenn Weir, Assistant Police Commissioner

Mel Wyatt, Learning Engagement Manager, Zoos Victoria

Deepak Vinayak, South Asian Community Link Group, People of Australia Ambassador

David Zerman, President, Royal (Scientific) Society of Victoria *Now in his 18th year!*


Media enquiries: ACER Communications, 03 9277 5469 or 0419 340 058

Download this media release as a PDF

Subscribe to the Discover newsletter

Privacy policy